Sony Music Entertainment’s Certified Announces Raised By Rap: 50 Years of Hip-Hop Compilation for July 2023 Release Featuring Run-DMC, The Fugees, Cypress Hill and More

Celebrating Hip Hop’s 50th birthday in 2023, Sony Music Entertainment (SME) and Certified proudly present a brand new collaborative double-LP vinyl entitled Raised By Rap: 50 Years of Hip Hop in stores July 28, 2023. It merges 25 of rap’s most definitive anthems on one body of work. It will be available in an array of exclusive vinyl colorways at Target and Urban Outfitters. As of June 1st, it is available for pre-order here.

Raised By Rap is a staple of Hip Hop history with hits from across all decades. The composition showcases the legacy and footprint of Sony Music Entertainment artist have had on the genre. Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock “It Takes Two”] and RUN DMC [“It’s Tricky”] represent the eighties, while Wu-Tang Clan [“C.R.E.A.M. (Cash Rules Everything Around Me)”] and Nas [“NY State of Mind”] spotlight the nineties. OutKast [“Ms. Jackson”] soundtracks the turn-of-the-century, and Lil Nas X [“Old Town Road” (feat. Billy Ray Cyrus) (Remix)] and BIA [“Whole Lotta Money”] resemble the present.

The album arrives on the heels of a series of high-profile releases by Certified-the digital destination platform celebrating SME’s Hip Hop catalogs. Prior vinyl drops have ranged from Nas’s Made You Look: God’s Son Live 2002 to RUN DMC’s Tougher Than Leather alongside the release of a new socially driven content series named “Made By Hip Hop”.

See below for the full track listing.

Raised By Rap: 50 Years of Hip Hop Track listing

Disc 1, Side A

  1. “Genius Rap,” Dr. Jeckyll & Mr. Hyde
  2. “It’s Tricky,” RUN DMC
  3. “It Takes Two,” Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock
  4. “Can I Kick It?” A Tribe Called Quest
  5. “Summertime” (Single Edit), DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince
  6. “Funkdafied,” Da Brat

Disc 1, Side B

  1. “Insane in the Brain,” Cypress Hill
  2. “C.R.E.A.M.,” Wu-Tang Clan featuring Method Man, Raekwon, Inspectah Deck, Buddha Monk
  3. “Shook Ones, Pt. II,” Mobb Deep
  4. “Ready or Not,” Fugees, Ms. Lauryn Hill, Wyclef Jean, Pras
  5. “N.Y. State of Mind,” Nas
  6. “Watch Out Now,” The Beatnuts featuring Yellaklaw

Disc 2, Side A

  1. “Ms. Jackson,” Outkast
  2. “Grindin’,” Clipse
  3. “Hip-Hop,” dead prez
  4. “Poppin’ My Collar,” Three 6 Mafia
  5. “Blow the Whistle,” Too $hort
  6. “Int’l Players Anthem (I Choose You),” UGK (Underground Kingz) featuring Outkast

Disc 2, Side B

  1. “goosebumps,” Travis Scott
  2. “a lot,” 21 Savage
  3. “Streets,” Doja Cat
  4. “Mask Off,” Future
  5. “Praise The Lord (Da Shine),” A$AP Rocky featuring Skepta
  6. “Old Town Road” (Remix), Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus
James Reed: Currently working at Universal Studios, MXDWN, and Catalyst Planet
Related Post
Leave a Comment